Hello Login

Select a Region

SHOW ALL

Videos
Help us spread the word about Kiwi House Swap and stay up to date with new property listings and special offers.
Videos
Play video
Short video about Kiwi House Swap and people's experiences using the site and with house swapping.
Experiences
Quote

What a great idea! I was about to spend a fortune on a hotel for my partner and I to go to Wellington for a wedding, but found a fantastic house swap opportunity on the site. Easy peasy. No problems...

Thames, Coromandel

Bedrooms

3

Bathrooms

2

Max People

6

Pets Possible

Pets Possilbe

Car Available

Pets Possilbe

Property ID: 1805

Property type and description
Cottage / Cabin - Main residence

Location notes

  • Coastal
  • Walking distance from the beach
  • River frontage
  • Short drive to a small village / town

Swap parties allowed at this property

  • Singles
  • Couples
  • Couples - Retired
  • Families

Swap periods available

  • Long Term 6+ Weeks
  • Long Term +6 Months

Nearest Town / City
Thames

Nearest Airport
Auckland International Airport
108 KM

The location shown on this map is an approximate location, not the actual address of the property.

About us

Member ID: 6477

We are a couple who live on the Thames Coast of the Coromandel. Andrew (34 year old) is a town planner, and Dave (59 years old) works from home as an editor/proofreader. We have a friendly, well-trained golden lab/staffy X dog called Tazmin. Our hobbies are gardening, walks, movies and podcasts. Andrew has a 12 months working for the Ministry for the Environment in Wellington starting May 2016, so we (including Tazmin the dog) need a place to stay in Wellington.

Property description and facilities

The best thing about our place is the setting. It has its own microclimate: protected from winds, except the odd easterly, no frosts in winter, and the Firth of Thames is just down the driveway with its collection of rocky and sandy beaches.

Our villa has dated 70s decor inside, but it is well insulated and has a great woodburner, two heat pumps, a kitchen wall heater and gets plenty of sun throughout the day. There are two large bedrooms, plus a third you can either use for a bedroom or open the doors to create a larger lounge, or use as an office. The kitchen has a dishwasher, and a modern oven, gas stove and refrigerator.

We have 3/4 acre of gardens, including vege boxes, 30+ fruit and nut trees, and pretty flowers. It is peaceful and quiet, as we are away from the road noise and have few neighbours that are not really visible from the house. They are great neighbours - friendly and helpful. We have beautiful bird song! We call this place our 'eden'.

There is a carport next to the front door, a separate sleepout with its own kitchenette and toilet, and some garden sheds. Tons of room for kids to play, or adults to meander through the gardens. A gardener comes once a month to keep things tidy, but you can grow your own veges throughout the year if you like. The yard is fully fenced for dog(s). We have a small hydroponics setup with goldfish, and four hens that wander free-range around the orchard.

  • Air-conditioning
  • Bath
  • Boat Parking
  • Car-port
  • Deck / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Electric Blankets
  • Firewood available
  • Freeview
  • Heatpump/underflloor heating
  • Indoor Shower
  • Insulated house
  • Internet
  • Life Jackets
  • Microwave
  • Mobile Coverage
  • Outdoor grassed area
  • Tank water
  • TV
  • Vegetable garden
  • Washing Machine
  • Wifi
  • Wood burner

Location description and facilities

Our home is 6 km north of the historic town of Thames, along the Thames Coast Road. It is only 1 1/2 hours from central Auckland or Auckland Airport. Thames is a great town with everything you need: supermarket, retail shops, restaurants, churches, parks, local pubs and tons of caf├ęs with friendly locals, and a Saturday street market.

North of our property are a number of bush walks, safe swimming beaches, and clean, fresh river waterfalls and swimming holes in the summer.

This is also a great base for exploring the Coromandel Peninsula's many natural and historical attractions to the north, east and south.

Facilities close by:

  • Archery
  • Art gallery
  • Beach
  • Biking
  • Boat ramp
  • Boating
  • Bush Walking
  • Cafes
  • Cinema
  • Fishing
  • Golf
  • Gym
  • Hiking
  • Historical sites
  • Horseriding
  • Jet skiing
  • Kids playground
  • Lawn bowling
  • Museum
  • Paddle boarding
  • Parks - Local or regional
  • Playing fields
  • Public library
  • Public swimming pool
  • Pubs
  • Restaurants
  • River
  • Rock pools
  • Sailing
  • Shopping
  • Swimming beach
  • Tennis
  • Waterfalls
  • Weekend farmers markets
  • Windsurfing

Pets to care for at this property

There may be pets to care for on this property.

Four chickens - keep feed and water topped up once a week
Aquaponics fish - feed once a week

Enquire about swapping with this property