Important information:

As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

Hello Login

Select a Region


Help us spread the word about Kiwi House Swap and stay up to date with new property listings and special offers.
Play video
Short video about Kiwi House Swap and people's experiences using the site and with house swapping.

What a great idea! I was about to spend a fortune on a hotel for my partner and I to go to Wellington for a wedding, but found a fantastic house swap opportunity on the site. Easy peasy. No problems...

Nelson, Tasman





Max People


Car Available

Pets Possilbe

Property ID: 438

Property type and description
House - Main residence

Location notes

  • Short drive to the beach
  • River frontage
  • Short drive to snow fields
  • Short drive to a small village / town
  • Located in forest / bush
  • Short drive to vineyards
  • Short drive to a golf course

Swap parties allowed at this property

  • Singles
  • Couples
  • Couples - Retired
  • Families

Swap periods available

  • Weekends
  • School Holidays
  • Christmas
  • Public Holidays

Nearest Town / City

Nearest Airport
10 KM

The location shown on this map is an approximate location, not the actual address of the property.


5 Review overall

We had a very successful house swap with this family in Summer 2017. Their home is a very lovely place to stay and enjoy but also central enough to explore from. The Matai River a favourite for our children, swinging into the swimming hole below – a new experience they loved! We had great communication leading up to the house swap and shared detailed house documents prior, making it a smooth and easy transition. We said we would swap again if the timing is right! Warmest wishes to Nicky and Dave. - Joanna Dibble - Tuesday, August 22, 2017

About us

Member ID: 2007

We are a kiwi family of 4. Greer is 12 and Hunter is 8. Dave is a sales manager/architectural designer and works from home and I am a breathing educator/Buteyko Practitioner, also working from home. I enjoy yoga, qi gong and walking and love to cook and can usually be found in the kitchen, cooking more food than the family can eat. That food enjoyment extends to cafes, restaurants and wineries of which Nelson has plenty. Otherwise we tend to be outside - walking, mountain biking, picnicking, exploring, at the beach or the river. With a young family our spare time revolves around family adventures. We have always enjoyed renting houses all over the place for our holidays and thought that swapping our house would be more economic and also give us some insider knowledge of where we are holidaying. At the moment we are looking for a swap to anywhere from Taupo or above for 2-3 weeks over the summer holidays from just before New Year. For a swap to be worthwhile for us we would always be looking for a minimum of 2 weeks.

Our Dream Locations

Some locations we are interested in visiting

All locations in this region
Bay of Plenty & Rotorua
All locations in this region
Wellington / Wairarapa
All locations in this region
Marlbourough / Kaikoura
All locations in this region
Nelson / Golden Bay
All locations in this region
All locations in this region
West Coast
All locations in this region
Queenstown / Wanaka
All locations in this region
All locations in this region

Property description and facilities

This 4 bedroom/3 bathroom home is very private and tranquil and is about 2.5 kms from the main street of Nelson, up the Maitai Valley, set on a hillside looking through kanuka trees over the golf course. There are 6 other families on our hillside giving us a close and very safe community. The house is a large (250 m2), modern house made of black onduline and orange cedar stained pine. It is a long house built into a steep bush-clad hillside. The living space is a double height and open-plan kitchen/dining/living space with a floor to ceiling book case down one end and double bifold glass doors down the other end which open onto the deck and lawn. Picture windows down the length of the house on the south side look through the bush and out over the valley and golf course, making it feel as if you are up in a tree house. Down one end of the living area by the book case is a quiet space with couches and beanbags and a large log burner. Down the other end, closer to the deck, is a corner couch, coffee table and the TV. The kitchen (where I live) is large and open with a long island bench and breakfast bar at one end where we eat most of our meals. There is also a jarrah wood dining table that seats 8. The view from the kitchen bench is through the trees and over the golf course. Along the there are 2 children's bedrooms, each with a king single bed, their bathroom (shower and bath), a separate toilet and the laundry. The master bedroom down the far end is large with a new king sized bed, and a walk-through wardrobe into the ensuite (shower, toilet, basin). There is a fourth bedroom/sleepout under the garage which is currently used as an office office. It contains a double bed, an ensuite with a shower and toilet and a small fridge. There are 2 connected spaces in this room with one being the office and the other the bedroom.

  • Air-conditioning
  • Bath
  • Bikes available
  • Deck / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Freeview
  • Heatpump/underflloor heating
  • Hifi / Music System
  • Indoor Shower
  • Insulated house
  • Internet
  • Kids toys available
  • Lock-up garage
  • Microwave
  • Mobile Coverage
  • Outdoor grassed area
  • Sky TV
  • Tank water
  • TV
  • Vegetable garden
  • Washing Machine
  • Wifi
  • Wood burner

Location description and facilities

From our home it takes 5 minutes to drive to the main street of Nelson, 10-12 minutes to the beach and 15 minutes to the airport. Our house is about 3 kms from town and it takes about 40 minutes to walk home up the valley, beside the river. The Maitai River runs past the bottom of our driveway and down the valley and the Maitai Golf Course is also at the bottom of our driveway. There are swimming spots, playgrounds and walkways up and down the valley. There is so much going on in Nelson and so many locations accessible within an hours drive that it can be hard to decide which direction to head in the weekends ... Tahunanui beach, Rabbit Island and the ferry to Mapua, biking part of the new Tasman Taste Trail, Moutere, Motueka, Kaiteriteri and the Able Tasman National Park, Kahurangi National Park, Nelson Lakes, Cable Bay, Pelorus, Havelock. Now I sound like an add for Nelson tourism! Just trying to convey how much we love living here. There are a lot of walking tracks and mountain biking tracks on our doorstep. Dave is a mountain biker so he can give you the heads up on the best trails. I can give you the heads up on the best cafes! If action and adventure are not your thing our home is a lovely, peaceful retreat in the bush, and a beautiful place just hang out and enjoy the space, the birdsong and the view across the valley. If the arts are more your thing Nelson has so much going on, especially through the summer - concerts, film festivals, plays, family events.

Facilities close by:

  • Archery
  • Art gallery
  • Beach
  • Biking
  • Boat ramp
  • Boating
  • Boogie Boarding
  • Bush Walking
  • Cafes
  • Canoeing
  • Cinema
  • Fishing
  • Go-carting
  • Golf
  • Gym
  • Hiking
  • Historical sites
  • Horseriding
  • Jet skiing
  • Kids playground
  • Lawn bowling
  • Marine reserves
  • Museum
  • Night clubs
  • Paddle boarding
  • Parks - Local or regional
  • Playing fields
  • Public library
  • Public swimming pool
  • Public transport
  • Pubs
  • Restaurants
  • River
  • Rock pools
  • Sailing
  • Scuba diving
  • Shopping
  • Skate park
  • Surf lessons
  • Swimming beach
  • Tennis
  • Ten-pin bowling
  • Theatre
  • Water slides
  • Weekend farmers markets
  • Windsurfing
  • Zoo

Pets to care for at this property

There may be pets to care for on this property.

Rhani, a shy cat who needs her cat biscuit bowl and water bowl filled up every few days.

Enquire about swapping with this property